Eric’s Specialized Allez Race

I was in the market for a new bike and the Specialized rep sent me a link to a limited edition frame color for the Allez Race frame-set. The frame is anodized gold with a matching Tarmac sl4 fork. The fork is painted, but it looks just like the aluminum frame.  My last bike was an Sworks Tarmac SL4 and I got lots of people asking me why I painted my frame gold. The welds and the tubing do not look like a typical alloy bike, so it looks very close to my Tarmac.

Goldmachine

Goldmachine

I set the bike up with a Sram Force group from last year. The bars are alloy Shimano Pro Vibe Sprint. The post is an Sworks  and the saddle is a Romin Evo carbon. Wheels are Dura Ace 9000.

I have raced the bike several times and put about 1,500 miles on it. It  handles great and it doesn’t beat me up too much for an aluminum frame.  Yes, it’s not as light as the Sworks, but its pretty close. For someone who wants a great bike without breaking the bank, the Specialized  Allez Race is a great choice. You can get it as a complete bike or a frame-set.

Leave a Reply

